The Nautilus Award

2011 Nautilus Book Award
Gold Medal winner
"Changing the world one book at a time"

"Nautilus Book Awards recognize the leading edge of the leading edge of books-—where the culture is heading by the people who are taking it there. "

Nautilus reviews and acknowledges books that promote conscious living and positive social change, books that offer life-affirming options to a world that longs for a new story.

Their process, long and labor-intensive, is carried out by three teams of judges—highly qualified, experienced reviewers located across the U.S. with successful careers as editors, writers, publishers, librarians, college professors and bookstore owners.

Previous book award winners include:

  • the Dalai Lama
  • Andrew Weil
  • Deepak Chopra
  • Naomi Wolf
  • Marianne Williamson
  • Eckhardt Tolle
  • Barbara Kingsolver


The awards are named for the beautiful, pearl-lined nautilus shell containing chambers of increasing size that the mollusk constructs for itself as it grows. The shell symbolizes both ancient wisdom and expanding horizons: both the elegance of nature and a continual growth of understanding and awareness.

Gold Medal winner
Foreword Magazine
The Ben Franklin Award

Benjamin Franklin Silver Medal winner

Weeks after receiving 3 awards (below) from the Colorado Independent Publishers Association, Collen went to the Benjamin Franklin Awards gala in NYC, and (with her Storm of the i #3 on the best-seller list back home at the Boulder Bookstore) she won a Silver Medal for Memoir.


The next night
she won a Bronze IPPY.


CIPA First Prize EVVY for Autobiography
CIPA First Prize for Layout & Design
CIPA Second Prize for Memoir


Storm of the i resides on the Boulder's Best Sellers Bookshelf at Boulder Bookstore
Tina Collen and


With writing partner, Mark Collen, at the annual CIPA banquet.